We offer for sale a charming Baroque castle of Brody near Podbořany on a hill above the village with breathtaking views of the fertile undulating landscape. The castle stands on the edge of the valley of the Leskovský brook with a ford (hence the name Brody) at an altitude of 345 m, 2 km from Krásný Dvůr near Podbořany in the Louny district. The usable area of the castle is 1,640 sqm and a part of the attic could be used as well. From the main entrance in the front of the chateau building you enter a large hall, from which you enter two symmetrically arranged wings. Opposite the main entrance, the opposite door leads to the castle courtyard and garden with a stone pool (still beautifully preserved). On the sides opposite this entrance there used to be a double staircase connecting the floors, which was probably walled up on one side during the last reconstruction in 1918. The symmetrical arches on the sides are still visible under the plaster.
At the rear of the extensive plot is a man-made stone pool (approximately30x10x1.5-2 m) with stone steps leading to it. The castle building is connected on the left side to a smaller annex of 139.5 sqm (including an attic of 60 sqm), which can serve in the future as an office/apartment for the warden or a technical house. The property has been protected as a cultural monument since 1964. The castle is located about an hour drive from Prague.
The first written mention of Brody dates back to 1405. A baroque chateau with a chapel was built by František Josef Černín in the first half of the 18th century on the site of a former fortress on a hill above the village of Brody, first mentioned in 1575 and founded by Jan Fremut the Younger. The latter bought the whole village of Brody in 1731 from the Piszing family and added it to his large estate in Krásný Dvůr. The remains of the original fortress were probably included into the castle masonry when it was built. During the Czernin administration, the castle served as offices and apartments for the Czernin administration staff.
The one-story Baroque chateau with chapel consists of a rectangular two floors with two short side wings. The main building has a hipped roof and a small octagonal tower with an onion bay rises in the center of the roof axis. The regular facade with ten window axes is decorated with a bay. Some of the rooms on the ground floor are vaulted. The first floor of the castle is flat-ceilinged. On the left is the entrance to a vaulted cellar. The first major renovation of the castle took place in 1848 and the second renovation is commemorated by the year 1918 in the gable of the bay window. After 1945 the castle was occupied by the employees of the state farm. They lived on the premises, and the building was not maintained.
The surrounding breathtaking landscape provides many opportunities for history and heritage lovers, as well as for hiking enthusiasts and sportsmen. In the nearby larger villages there are all civic amenities.